Living With Them

Trailering a Tracked Quad

A tracked quad is wider, taller and heavier than the same quad on tires, and every one of those three differences has a published figure attached to part of it and nothing attached to the rest. This page sorts out which is which, so you know what to read off a spec sheet and what to measure with a tape before the machine goes anywhere near a trailer.

Gary Bauch/

Four questions, and how far the answers go

“Can I trailer it” breaks into four smaller questions — how wide, how tall, how heavy, and where do the straps go. The manufacturers answer the first two partly, the third only per corner, and the fourth not at all. Which means three of the four end with a tape measure or a weighbridge, and it is worth knowing that before you go looking for a figure that is not there.

Camso states the general case itself, in the safety section of the owner’s manual:1

The installation of a System: • Increases ground clearance. • Changes the center of gravity. • Increases the ATV width and weight. • Reduces ground pressure.Camso ATV T4S Track System — Owner’s Manual, Safety — read 2026-09-26

Increases the width and the weight. By how much, on your machine, with your mount kit, is the part that is only partly published — and the part that is published is easy to read wrong, because the figures count different things.

Per unit, per set, per vehicle

This is the distinction that sends people to a trailer with the wrong number. A track kit is four units — two front, two rear — and every mass figure either manufacturer publishes is a single-corner figure. None of them is a set figure. A front unit and a rear unit are not the same weight, so a set is not four of anything.2

Every published mass figure for the ATV systems this site names. Of these 5 rows, 0 state in words how many units the figure counts, and 1 names what the figure leaves out. Values verbatim; read 2026-09-26.
SystemRow, as publishedValueExcludesQuantity stated?
Camso ATV T4SWeightF 71 lb · R 83.7 lbnot statedfront and rear columns only
Camso ATV T4SMount kit6.25 lb (approx.)not statedfront and rear columns only
Camso X4SWeightF 72.6 lb · R 79.4 lbnot statedfront and rear columns only
Camso X4SMount kit6.25 lb (approx.)not statedfront and rear columns only
Kimpex Commander WS4WeightF 72 lb / 32 kg · R 75 lb / 34 kgmount kitfront and rear columns only

Read the last two columns together and the trap is visible. Kimpex prints the words without mount kitahead of its two figures, so you know what is missing. Camso gives the mount kit its own row, marks it approximate, and does not say whether that row is the whole vehicle’s hardware or one corner’s — and the mount kit is precisely the part of the order that changes from machine to machine.3

One system in the range publishes no mass figure at all. The one-page product sheet publishes track width, length, lug height, ground surface and a machine-size statement, and no weight of any kind. Camso's current product site no longer serves an R4S page.

Why a spec-sheet total will not answer the tongue-weight question

Four units plus a mount kit is a sum; what it is a sum of is the problem. Two of the terms are approximate, one of them may or may not need multiplying by four, and none of the three manufacturers publishes an installed weight — which is the figure a tongue rating and an axle rating actually ask about. The rest of that gap is listed on What Nobody Publishes.

There is a second unpublished term, and it works the other way: the wheels and tires you took off. The change to your loaded weight is tracks minus rubber, and no manufacturer of either product publishes the second half for your machine. So a figure assembled from spec sheets is not conservative or generous — it is unquantified in both directions, which is why the instrument for this question is a certified scale. Weigh the tow vehicle and trailer empty, then loaded, and keep the ticket.

There is exactly one ATV weight anywhere in Camso’s published ATV material, and it is an assumption rather than a measurement — the footnote under the ground-pressure claim on the out-of-production R4S sheet:

May vary depending on vehicle weight, load carried and track system model. Calculations based on a 900 lb ATV (including driver).Camso ATV R4S track system product sheet, Footnote to the published ground-pressure reduction — read 2026-09-26

That is a calculation basis for a footprint claim about a system that is no longer in production. It is not your machine and it is not a rating, so do not carry it to a trailer.

Width, which is the figure most likely to be needed and least likely to exist

Width decides whether the machine clears the fender wells, whether it goes through the gate at the end of the road, and whether two separate ramps line up with anything. Here is what is published.

Published unit dimensions, and what each source says its row measures. Camso publishes the assembled unit in three axes; Kimpex publishes two rows and labels neither. Read 2026-09-26.
SystemRow, as publishedFrontRearWhat the source says it measures
Camso ATV T4S and X4SSystem length40 in42.5 inthe assembled unit
Camso ATV T4S and X4SSystem height23.8 in23.2 inthe assembled unit
Camso ATV T4S and X4SSystem width11.5 in12.5 inthe assembled unit, and the same figure the pages publish for track width
Kimpex Commander WS4Width292 mm / 11.5 in330.2 mm / 13 innot stated — the row is labelled only Width
Kimpex Commander WS4Length2460 mm / 97 in2540 mm / 100 innot stated — the figures fall in the range Camso publishes for its rubber track rather than for its frame, and the row does not say which it is

Every one of those is the width of one unit. The widest figure in the table is 13 in, and it is a single rear corner — not a vehicle dimension, not half a vehicle dimension, and not a number you can do anything with on its own.

The figure that would tell you how much wider the machine got is Camso’s offset table, and Camso is the only one of the two who publishes one:

Installation of a Track System on a vehicle creates offsets in length, height and width. The offsets are illustrated in the figure below and their dimensions are specified in the accompanying table.Camso ATV T4S Track System — Owner’s Manual, Specifications — read 2026-09-26
Every offset figure Camso publishes, and where each one is published. The owner’s manual carries the longer table; the product pages print a shorter one and drop two rows from it. Read 2026-09-26.
Row, as publishedQualifierPublishedWhere
Offset (length)Front24 in. (610 mm)Owner’s manual
Rear27 in. (686 mm)
Offset (width)Polaris7 in. (178 mm)Owner’s manual
Other models6 in. (152 mm)
Offset (height)Original tire: 24 in.3 in. (76 mm)Owner’s manual
Offset lengthF24 inProduct page
R27 in
Offset width—6 inProduct page

Three things in that table are worth slowing down for, and the third is the one that stops the page from giving you an answer.

  • The width offset is not the same on every make. The manual splits it, and Polaris is the row that differs. The product pages print only the other figure.
  • The height offset is stated against one original tire size. It is the difference from a specific tire diameter, so on a machine wearing something else it is not that number, and the manual does not publish a second one.
  • Whether the width offset is per side or across the vehicle is not stated in words. It is illustrated in a diagram and, on the product pages, in a video. Doubling it and not doubling it produce two different machines. Put a tape across your own machine at its widest point and write down what it says.

For the Commander there is no offset row at all, and no frame height: you can learn what one unit is wide and nothing about what the vehicle became. The same tape answers it.

Take that measurement across the rear units as well as across the front: in the table above the widest published figure is a rear corner, on every system where the two differ. Then compare it against the inside width of the trailer between the fender wells rather than the width of the deck — and against the gate at the end of the road, which is the measurement people remember too late.

Height and clearance: two words, two quantities

Both manufacturers publish something called ground clearance and they are not publishing the same kind of thing. Camso publishes both a height and a change in height, in different places and with different wording. Kimpex publishes only a change. Across the 4 rows below there are 2 kinds of quantity, and no method is stated for any of them.

Clearance as each manufacturer publishes it. An absolute figure and a change figure cannot be compared, subtracted or ranked. Read 2026-09-26.
SystemRow, as publishedValueKind of quantity
Camso ATV T4S and X4SGround clearanceF: 15 3/8 in · R: 14 5/8 ina height
Camso ATV T4SOffset (height)3 in. (76 mm), stated against a 24 in. original tirea change in height
Camso ATV T4SAvg. ground clearanceIncreased by 3 in (*vs tires)a change in height
Kimpex Commander WS4Ground clearanceIncrease of 125 mm / 5 ina change in height

For an enclosed trailer the number you need is the machine’s overall height with tracks on, and neither manufacturer publishes it, because it depends on the quad. What they publish is the amount the install lifted it, on one machine, against one tire. Measure the loaded height at the tallest point — which may be a handlebar, a mirror or a rack, none of which is in any track manufacturer’s table.

Ramp angle is arithmetic. Ramp geometry is the problem.

The angle itself is trigonometry: a rise, a ramp length, and the angle between them. It needs no manufacturer and no test. Here it is across a grid of round numbers, so you can find the two you measured.4

Ramp angle in degrees, computed as the arcsine of rise over ramp length. The axes are round numbers chosen for the table, not figures published by anyone.
Rise60 in ramp72 in ramp84 in ramp96 in ramp120 in ramp144 in ramp
16 in15.5°12.8°11.0°9.6°7.7°6.4°
20 in19.5°16.1°13.8°12.0°9.6°8.0°
24 in23.6°19.5°16.6°14.5°11.5°9.6°
28 in27.8°22.9°19.5°17.0°13.5°11.2°

What the table cannot tell you is whether the angle is acceptable. No manufacturer publishes a maximum ramp or approach angle for any of these systems. Two published angles get quoted as if they did, and neither is that:

In all cases, do not drive across a slope with a bank angle of more than 15 degrees.Camso ATV T4S Track System — Owner’s Manual, Operating instructions — Driving across slopes — read 2026-09-26

That is a bank angle across a slope — a rollover limit, measured across the machine. A ramp is a climb, measured along it. The figures are not interchangeable and Camso does not offer the second one.

CAUTION: It is not advisable to attempt to drive over an obstacle taller than 30 cm [12 in], such as a tree trunk, stump or big rock.Camso ATV T4S Track System — Owner’s Manual, Operating instructions — Driving over an obstacle taller than 30 cm [12 in] — read 2026-09-26

That is the nearest published statement to a step, and it is about driving over a log rather than up a lip. It is worth carrying anyway, because a deck edge, a curb and a ramp that sits proud of the ground are all steps — Camso simply does not address them.

Side elevation of a tracked quad part-way up a straight ramp onto a trailer deckA schematic side view, machine facing right. A trailer deck sits at a height marked h above level ground. A straight ramp of length L runs from the ground to the lip of the deck, making an angle theta with the ground. Two long flat-bottomed track units stand under the machine: the front unit is already on the ramp, the rear unit is still flat on the ground, and between them the belly of the machine passes over the point where ramp meets ground. A second detail shows the same front unit crossing the deck lip, where the unit bridges from the ramp face onto the deck and is supported at two points with a gap beneath its middle. The drawing is schematic, is not to scale, and carries no measured dimensions.trailer deckθh — riseL — ramp lengthrear unit — supported along its lengthbelly line1. the foot of the ramp: the angle changes under one unit2. the lip: the unit bridges, and the middle is unsupported
Fig. 1. Where a ramp actually loads a track unit. Two places on the way up change what is under the unit: the foot of the ramp, where the angle changes beneath a single unit while the other is still flat, and the lip, where the unit bridges from the ramp face onto the deck and the middle of its bottom run is carrying nothing. A tire rolls over both; a unit with a long flat bottom does not. Schematic, not to scale, and carrying no measured dimensions. — Original diagram, The Quad Track Log

Two Camso cautions are what make that shape worth drawing. One is about what happens between the units:

CAUTION: It is not advisable to attempt to drive over an obstacle, such as a tree trunk, big rock or steep ridge that could lodge itself between the front and the rear Track Systems and immobilize the vehicle.Camso ATV T4S Track System — Owner’s Manual, Operating instructions — Driving over a steep ridge — read 2026-09-26

The other is about what the unit is standing on:

CAUTION: Never exceed anti-rotation stroke of front or rear Track Systems. System or vehicle failure may occur. Camso recommends always riding on terrain that fully supports the Track System.Camso ATV T4S Track System — Owner’s Manual, Operating instructions — Exceeding the anti-rotation stroke on rough terrain — read 2026-09-26

Camso wrote both about terrain, and reading them onto a ramp is a reading rather than a quotation — but it is the obvious one: a ramp narrower than the published unit width, or short enough that the lip falls in the middle of the bottom run, is a surface that does not fully support the unit. So check the ramp’s usable width against the width table above; the widest published unit is 13 in across. Then measure the figure that is missing from every table on this page: the distance between the two front units, and between the two rear ones, on your machine. Nobody publishes track centres per vehicle, and that is the dimension that decides whether two separate ramps land where the units are.5 A single full-width ramp removes the question entirely.

What either manufacturer publishes about loading

One sentence, from Camso, and it is about a truck box rather than a trailer:

CAUTION: While loading or unloading a vehicle in truck box, make sure that the front tracks do not grip the tailgate locking gudgeons to avoid tearing the tracks.Camso ATV T4S Track System — Owner’s Manual, Operating instructions — Loading and unloading a vehicle in a truck — read 2026-09-26

That is the entire published loading instruction for these systems. It is specific, it is about a tailgate, and it names a failure mode — a track gripping a fixed piece of hardware as the machine articulates over the edge — that is worth carrying in your head at a deck lip even though the manual is not talking about one.

Tie-downs: nobody who builds these systems publishes one

No manufacturer of any of these systems publishes a tie-down point, a strap location, a lashing instruction or a transport procedure. Across the 7 manufacturer documents that would carry one, the whole yield is the truck-box caution above.

The manufacturer documents that would carry a transport or tie-down instruction, and what each says instead.
DocumentReadWhat it returned
Camso ATV T4S Track System — Owner’s ManualOne hit. A caution about loading and unloading in a truck box, and the front tracks gripping the tailgate locking gudgeons. No tie-down point, no strap location, no ramp dimension, no trailer of any kind.
Camso X4S Track System — Owner’s ManualThe same single caution, in the same section, with the same wording.
Camso ATV T4S product pageNo hit.
Camso X4S product pageNo hit.
Kimpex Commander WS4 track kit product pageNo hit, and no manual is linked from the page.
Kimpex instruction manuals index, and the track-kit instruction catalogue it linksThe index links a track-kit instruction catalogue that renders as a JavaScript page-turner rather than a document, so its contents could not be read as text on the date above. If it carries a storage or transport section, that is a citation this page would want.
Camso ATV/UTV maintenance advice pageNo hit — and no storage section either, although the page is where an owner looking for one would start.

The nearest published statement about attaching anything to a system is not about straps at all. It is about a recovery cable, and it points away from the system:

CAUTION: If your vehicle must be towed out of the snow, do not secure the towing cable on the Track Systems. CAUTION: The towing cable must be attached to the vehicle’s frame.Camso ATV T4S Track System — Owner’s Manual, Operating instructions — Location of towing cable — read 2026-09-26

Camso wrote that about being stuck in snow, so it is not a tie-down rule. What it does establish is narrower and still worth having: there is at least one published case where the manufacturer directs a load to the vehicle frame rather than to the track system, and no published case where a load may be taken on the system. Strapping to the frame is the conservative reading of that, and the only one with anything published behind it.

The rest of the answer comes from three other manufacturers, all of whom do publish figures:

  • Your vehiclemanufacturer’s owner manual is the document that would name tie-down points on the quad. Neither track manual names one, and neither says anything about the quad’s own.
  • Your trailer and ramp manufacturers publish load ratings. Ask whether the rating you are reading is per ramp or per pair — that is the same per-unit-or-per-set question as the weight table above, in a different industry, and it is worth asking rather than assuming.
  • Your strap manufacturer publishes a working load limit. That figure is published, and it is the one number in this whole paragraph that comes with a standard behind it.
  • Whoever installed the system can say whether anything in the mount kit sits where a strap would want to. Nobody publishes that either, and it is a two-minute question at the counter.

What to measure before the first trip

Everything the manufacturers publish is above. These are the numbers only you can get, and each one replaces a figure this page cannot give you:

  • Width at the widest point, tracks on. Across the rear units at deck level. This is the figure the published offset table cannot settle, because it does not say whether the offset is per side or across the vehicle.
  • Height at the tallest point.Handlebar, mirror or rack, whichever wins — none of them appears in any track manufacturer’s table, and the published clearance change is stated against one original tire size.
  • Track centres, front and rear. The gap between the two front units and between the two rears. Unpublished by everyone, and the number that decides whether two separate ramps land where the units do.
  • Ramp rise and ramp length. Two tape measurements; the angle table above turns them into a figure you can compare between trailers.
  • A scale ticket. Tow vehicle and trailer empty, then loaded. No manufacturer publishes an installed weight, so this is the only route to the number a tongue rating asks about.

Write the first three on the trailer in paint pen. They do not change until the machine does, and they are the three you will want at a gate, a fender well or somebody else’s ramp.

The neighbouring page on storing four units covers what happens to them once they are off the machine.

Four numbers settle most of this and three of them are yours to take: the machine's width at its widest point with tracks on, its height at the tallest point, the distance between the units front and rear, and a ticket from a certified scale with the trailer loaded. Write them on the trailer.