Legal & access

Tracked ATVs in Minnesota: What the State Publishes

Minnesota's DNR answers the tracked-ATV question in print, and read against what it publishes, a tracked quad is legal to ride — it just changes category. The DNR states that once you fit tracks to a Class 1 or Class 2 ATV the machine is considered an off-road vehicle (ORV), and it then lists where you may operate: frozen waters, state forest roads in forests classified “limited” or “managed,” ORV special use areas, and private property with the landowner's permission. ORV registration is only required for designated ORV trails and areas on DNR-administered land or grant-in-aid ORV trails, so on our reading frozen-water and private-land riding needs no ORV registration at all. The trade is that ORV rules are tighter than ATV rules in several places — see below.

Gary Bauch/

Can you ride a tracked quad in Minnesota?

Yes

Yes, with conditions — registration, designated trails, or similar. The conditions are set out below and they are the part worth reading.

Our reading of what Minnesota publishes — not a ruling. The evidence is below, including what we could not work out.

Does the law mention tracks?

Named outright

The DNR answers the tracked-ATV question in a dedicated FAQ entry, under the heading “Equipment.” It states that fitting tracks moves the machine out of the ATV class and into the ORV class, and it publishes the resulting list of places you may ride. Separately, the DNR's snowmobile FAQ — answering under a reference to Minn. Stat. 84.81 subd. 3 — says the snowmobile definition does not cover an ATV equipped with aftermarket ski and track configurations, so on that reading the machine cannot be registered as a snowmobile or taken onto snowmobile trails.

Q: Where can I ride my ATV if I put tracks on it? A: Once you put tracks on a Class 1 or Class 2 ATV it is considered an ORV. You may operate: • on frozen waters • on state forest roads in state forests classified as “limited” or “managed” • in ORV special use area • on private property with permission of landownerMinnesota DNR, 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, “Frequently Asked Questions — Equipment” (p. 9) — source · read 2026-09-26

Registration and titling

Because the DNR treats a tracked machine as an ORV, ORV registration rules apply instead of ATV registration. ORV registration is only required to ride ORV-designated trails or areas on DNR-administered land or grant-in-aid ORV trails; it is valid three years, and is not required if a valid trail pass is displayed. Registration is expressly not required for an ORV operated on frozen waters or on private property that is not a designated ORV trail. ATV registration, by contrast, is required in Minnesota even for private-property-only use — so on this point the reclassification appears to loosen the requirement rather than tighten it.

ORVs are only required to be registered if operated on ORV designated trails or areas on lands administered by the DNR or grant-in-aid ORV trails, Registration is valid for 3 years. Registration is not required if a valid trail pass is displayed.Minn. Stat. 84.798, as published in Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, “ORV Registration” (p. 12) — source · read 2026-09-26

A different document, other jurisdictions
Registering a Tracked Quad sets several named agencies' own class definitions side by side, and shows that they are not written to a common test. It settles nothing for Minnesota; what Minnesota publishes is directly above.

Trails

Appears permitted, with conditions

Our reading: yes on trails and routes signed for ORV use, no on snowmobile trails. In managed state forests you may ride all forest roads, trails and nondesignated routes unless posted closed; in limited state forests you may ride forest roads plus trails specifically signed for ORV use; in closed forests you may ride frozen public waters. A state or grant-in-aid ORV trail requires an ORV trail pass or ORV registration. Watch the signing: a trail signed for ATV use is not the same as one signed for ORV use.

In a managed forest on all state forest roads, trails and nondesignated routes unless posted “closed.” In a limited forest on forest roads and on trails designated and signed to permit specific motor vehicle use and on trails specifically designated and signed for a vehicle type. For example, trails can be designated for ATV, OHM, and/or ORV use. In a closed forest on frozen public waters.Minnesota Rule 6100.1950, as published in Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, “State Forest Lands / Where you can ride” (pp. 34-35) — source · read 2026-09-26

A different document, other jurisdictions
Groomed Snowmobile Trails quotes named agencies in other jurisdictions on the groomed-trail question, and they do not agree with each other. It settles nothing for Minnesota; what Minnesota publishes is directly above.

Roads and shoulders

Appears permitted, with conditions

Road riding is where the ORV rules read more restrictively than the rules for a wheeled ATV. An ORV may not be operated within an interstate right-of-way or within a public road right-of-way at all, except on a designated trail. Crossing a road is permitted and requires a valid driver's license, except on portions of a designated trail that specifically include a road right-of-way.

You may operate on state forest roads, trails and lands as described on page 34. You may not operate an ORV within the right-of-way of an interstate highway, or within a public road right-of-way, except on a designated trail.Minn. Stat. 84.804, as published in Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, “ORV General Operations” (p. 29) — source · read 2026-09-26

A different document, other jurisdictions
Roads, Shoulders and Crossings separates crossing a road from travelling along one in several named jurisdictions, because most of them do. It settles nothing for Minnesota; what Minnesota publishes is directly above.

Public land

Frozen public waters are open, and open without ORV registration — and they stay open even in state forests classified closed, which is the permission most useful to a winter machine. State forest roads are open in both managed and limited forests unless posted closed, but read that alongside the DNR's next bullet: in limited forests OHV operation is allowed only on signed and mapped routes open to that vehicle type. You may not ride off designated routes, on posted-closed areas, on non-motorized trails, or in a manner causing erosion or rutting (the rutting provision does not apply on designated motorized trails). During rifle deer season you may not ride state forest trails in rifle zones without a deer license; forest roads stay open.

In both managed and limited state forests, forest roads are open to OHV use unless posted “closed.” • In limited state forests, OHV operation is allowed only on signed and mapped routes that are open for that type of OHV use.Minnesota Rule 6100.1950, as published in Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, “State Forest Lands” (p. 34) — two consecutive bullets, quoted together — source · read 2026-09-26

A different document, other jurisdictions
Public Land and Width Limits covers the federal land managers, who publish route designations rather than permissions and answer to nobody's state code. It settles nothing for Minnesota; what Minnesota publishes is directly above.

Also worth knowing

  • Minnesota's ATV definition is written in terms of tires — “at least three, but no more than six, low-pressure or nonpneumatic tires” — which is the mechanism by which a track conversion moves the machine out of the ATV class and into the ORV class. Source: Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, “OHV Definitions” (p. 3).
  • Minnesota closes the snowmobile route as well. The DNR's snowmobile FAQ asks “If I put tracks on my ATV can I register it as a snowmobile and ride on the Snowmobile trails? (MINNESOTA STATUTE 84.81 SUBD 3)” and answers: “No, the definition of a snowmobile does not include the following vehicles equipped with aftermarket ski and track configurations: all-terrain vehicle, off-highway motorcycle, off-road vehicle, mini truck, utility task vehicle or any other vehicle being operated off road.” Note what that is: the DNR's own answer, printed under a reference to the statute, not a quotation of the statutory text itself. Source: Minnesota DNR, 2025-2026 Snowmobile Regulations, Frequently Asked Questions (p. 12). URL: https://files.dnr.state.mn.us/rlp/regulations/snowmobile/snowmobileregs.pdf
  • The Class 1 (50 in or less) and Class 2 (greater than 50 in, not more than 65 in) width classes are measured “from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim” and apply to ATVs. No equivalent published width class or width limit for ORVs was found, so the usual 50-inch trail width worry does not obviously attach here. Source: Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, p. 3.
  • Minnesota's published ORV general operations include “All ORV passengers and operators must wear seat belts” (Minn. Stat. 84.804). That rule was plainly written for Jeep- and truck-style ORVs and a straddle-seat tracked quad has no seat belts; how the DNR applies it to a reclassified ATV is not stated in the source. Source: Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, p. 29.
  • ORV youth rule is stricter than the ATV youth rules: “A person under 16 years of age may not operate an ORV” (Minn. Stat. 84.802). Source: Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, p. 29.
  • Snowmobile trails are closed to the machine both by the snowmobile definition and independently by trespass: the DNR notes that several thousand miles of snowmobile trail cross private land open only to snowmobiles, and that “Regardless the time of year, any other motor vehicle use is considered trespassing.” Source: Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, p. 9.
  • Minnesota runs an ORV registration-free day at the Iron Range OHV State Recreation Area on the third Saturday in May. Source: Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, p. 12.
  • The reclassification narrows more than the road rules. In a limited state forest, trails must be “designated and signed to permit specific motor vehicle use” and may be designated “for ATV, OHM, and/or ORV use” — so a trail signed for ATV use is not open to the reclassified machine. How much of Minnesota's signed trail network carries ORV signing rather than ATV signing is not stated in the source and we did not determine it. Together with the ORV rules that a person under 16 may not operate at all (Minn. Stat. 84.802), that seat belts are required (Minn. Stat. 84.804), and that public road right-of-way is closed except on a designated trail, fitting tracks in Minnesota appears to trade a broad set of ATV privileges for a narrower set of ORV ones. Source: Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, pp. 29, 34-35.
  • For comparison, the general OHV operation restrictions that apply to every class bar operation only “within the right-of-way of any interstate highway or freeway,” “on the median of a four-lane highway” and “on the right-of-way between opposing lanes of traffic” — leaving other public road right-of-ways available to a wheeled ATV. The ORV-specific rule on p. 29 is stricter and closes public road right-of-way entirely except on a designated trail, which is the concrete privilege the reclassification costs. Source: Minnesota DNR 2026-2027 OHV Regulations, “Operation Restrictions” (pp. 22-23) and “ORV General Operations” (p. 29).

Sources

Back to all jurisdictions

Everything here is our reading of what a state publishes, on the date shown. It is not legal advice and it is not guaranteed complete: rules change, counties and land managers add their own, and a fair amount of this has never been ruled on for a tracked machine specifically. Confirm with the agency named on this page before you rely on any of it.